Stay in Shanghai or Beijing Visa-Free for 72 Hours

Travel | by China Travel
Posted: December 11th, 2012 | Updated: August 28th, 2014 | Comments
Two travelers whose entry to China also had to wait until 2013.


Beginning January 1, 2013, visitors to Shanghai and Beijing from 45 countries will be able to stay in those cities for up to 72 hours without having to go through the rigmarole of getting a visa. This follows a 2000 visa rule change allowing visitors from 32 countries to visit Shanghai for up to 48 hours visa-free. Read on for more details.... The stay will be limited to the two cities, although Chinese news sources hint at the possibility of future openings. Want to know more about getting a visa to China? Check our rundown on China visa rules.

Who Can Travel to Shanghai or Beijing Without a Visa?

Passport holders from the following countries can enjoy a visa-free three day jaunt in Beijing or Shanghai:

Europe: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK, Ukraine

The Americas: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico, the United States

Asia/Pacific: Australia, New Zealand, South Korea

Middle East: Qatar, United Arab Emirates

Passport holders from Japan, Brunei and Singapore can already enter the country visa-free for up to 15 days.

submit to reddit

© 2014 BambooCompass. All right reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without our written permission.

This website is owned by Ctrip International, which is a department of Ctrip.Sitemap